Starting this month I’m gonna share with you the movies I watched and my opinion on them by the end of each month. If you want to comment on the movies or have any advice on a movie I should watch use the comments 😉.

Brice 3 (2016)

Brice 3

It’s a French comedy directed by James Huth and the sequel of “Brice de Nice” from 2005. In this movie, the wannabe surfer “Brice of Nice” from the French Riviera is back and it seems like Brice didn’t change at all, unlike the world. The story starts with Marius Brice’s best friend who calls him for help. This adventure will leads Brice to the other side of the world. Will Brice still be the king of the “casse” after this travel?

It’s a very light movie just like the first one. The movie is full of heavy gags and jokes. It’s something you’d like to watch when it’s raining and you have time to kill.

Not the kind of humor I like. The first movie was for me pretty bad I watch this sequel just because I was curious to know how bad it is and because of all the hype made by some French medias.
I give it a 3/10

Warcraft – The Beginning (2016)

Warcraft - The Beginning

This Action/adventure/Fantasy movie was directed by Duncan Jones. It’s is based on the Warcraft video games and novels universe.
The peaceful realm of Azeroth stands on the brink of war as its civilization faces a fearsome race of invaders: orc warriors fleeing their dying home to colonize another. As a portal opens to connect the two worlds, one army faces destruction and the other faces extinction. From opposing sides, two heroes are set on a collision course that will decide the fate of their family, their people, and their home.

I never played any Warcraft games so I can’t compare it to the video games but for me, it’s a good movie. The story is interesting, the characters are well played. Normally I’m not fond of this kind of movie universe where there are goblins and orcs and first I was thinking it was a movie like “Lord of the Ring”, very long and hard to follow. But the story is captivating and you are immersed in the movie.

I wasn’t sure if I’ll watch it or not as I told you I’m not fond of fantastic movies and I had no expectations before watching it and I have to admit it’s not so bad and I somehow kinda like it.
I give it a 5/10

Masterminds (2016)

“Masterminds”

Directed by Jared Hess Masterminds the movie was filmed in 2014 but released only on September 29, 2016! It depicts the story of a guard working at an armored car company in the Southern U.S. organizes one of the biggest bank heists in American history. The movie is based on a true story, the October 1997 Loomis Fargo robbery.

The movie is featuring Zach Galifianakis who also played in Hangover movies, Owen Wilson from Wedding Crashers and Kristen Wiig from The Martian. This great cast makes the movie outrageously funny even if some gags are very easy and use toilet jokes, the movie will make you laugh so loud that you neighbors will wonder what’s going on!

I like the fact this movie was inspired by a true fact the robbery of Loomis Fargo in October 1997 in Charlotte, North Carolina. The robbery was the second-largest cash robbery on the U.S soil at the time. Even if I like this movie I wish someone will make an adaptation of this heist with a more serious tone, like a documentary movie. Waiting for it, you can read the book about this robbery ” Heist!: The $17 Million Loomis Fargo Theft by Jeff Diamant” (published September 2002).
(AmazonFR) (AmazonUS)

I had a great time watching Masterminds and I didn’t see the time go by!
I give it a 6/10

Doctor Strange (2016)

“Doctor Strange”

Doctor Strange is a superhero movie based on the Marvel Comics and produced by Marvel Studios and distributed Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures. The story takes place in the MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe).

I don’t wanna spoil the movie so I’m giving you a 2 lines synopsis from TheMovieDB:

“After his career is destroyed, a brilliant but arrogant surgeon gets a new lease on life when a sorcerer takes him under his wing and trains him to defend the world against evil.”

As you guessed it I love this movie. First, because it’s a Marvel movie and these movies are becoming better and better and all together they’re part of a huge universe where every movies and TV-shows are linked together. Also, I love this movie because some scenes remind me another movie I love “Inception” SPOILER ALERT

I also love the fact that Marvel has adapted this superhero because is gives a more spiritual dimension to the MCU. Before Dr. Strange the MCU was a universe where tech and robots had a great place and here in this movie we have a more mystical and spiritual aspect and it completes what Thor introduced with the notion of gods, good and evil…

This movie is superb! You really need to watch it, especially if you’re a fan of Marvel superheroes! And don’t forget to stay until the very end of the movie 😉!
I give it a 9/10

Minority Report (2002)

Minority Report

Minority Report was released back in June 2002 and directed by S. Spielberg and inspired by the short story of the same name written by Philip K. Dick. The main theme of Minority Report is the question go free will against determinism. The movie questions the reality of free will if the future is set and know in advance. Other themes are part of the plot such as the role of a preventive government in protecting people, the media place in a future state where technology make its presence boundless.

The plot takes place in Washington D.C. in 2054, where police utilize a psychic technology to arrest and convict murderers before they commit their crime. Tom Cruise plays the head of this Precrime unit and is himself accused of the future murder of a man he hasn’t even met.

Minority Report is a very interesting movie, it mixed fascinating themes and the way the movie was directed. Back in 2002, it was one of the best-rated movies and it received a lot of awards. And I think the movie was visionary. Couple years ago I heard some scientists find an algorithm that might be able to predict the chances of a crime. Also, the way technology is used by the government in the movie looks like what start to happen in the real life with massive wiretapping by governments all across the world.
I really appreciate how the suspense of some scene keeps me engaged. I literally jumped off my sofa twice! And it makes you dive into the story.

I give it a 10/10 and my only regret is I didn’t watch this great movie earlier.

Arrival (2016)

Arrival

Arrival released in December 2016 directed by Denis Villeneuve who also produce the upcoming Blade Runner 2049. The film is based on the 1998 short story “Story of Your Life” by Ted Chiang. Arrival was selected as one of the then “Movies of the Year” by The American Film Institute, it also won the award for Best Sound Editing at the 89th Academy Awards. It also received Golden Globe nominations for Best Actress for Adams and Best Original Score.

The film starts with twelve unknown and mysterious space-crafts arriving and levitating all across the globe and an elite team – led by expert linguist Louise Banks – is brought together to find out why these UFOs came on Earth. While all the mankind is scared and a global war is coming caused by the space-crafts, Louise and her team are trying to find answers – and to find them, she will take a chance that could threaten her life, and quite possibly humanity.

The movie is like a puzzle the beauty of it is made by all the pieces that compose it. All the pieces create a whole and it’s a masterpiece, the performances, dialogue, cinematography, soundtrack, screenplay, editing and direction all these pieces form one elegantly structured whole. But if I could choose one thing it would be how linguistic has an important place in this movie. The focal point of the movie is the problem faced by Louis and others to communicate with the aliens, called “The Heptapods” and how they will solve it. I found very interesting the fact this sci-fi movie introduce the aliens who won’t be a threat for human and where the only threat is the humans themselves.

I give it a 10/10 I really hope there will be a sequel to show what will happen in the future.

